De España

During the two months I spent in Madrid during college, I drank red wine for the first time, saw paintings by Picasso and got a ride home from the police one night (long and entertaining story). I also ate a lot of tortillas — no, not the type you get with a burrito, but more of what we think of as an omelet. But I had only ever eaten them. I have never made one myself.

I hadn’t even thought about Spanish tortillas until the other day when I saw that Elise at Simply Recipesa had posted a  reicpe for one. Tortillas are unbelievably simple to make and the Spanish eat them for dinner quite regularly. They pretty much consist of eggs and potato. I pledged for several days that I would make one, but I didn’t until last night at about 8:30 p.m. (I couldn’t quite pull off the Spanish 11 p.m. dinner).

Since I was the only one eating the tortilla, I used the smaller frying pan and basically cut in half Elise’s recipe, with a few adaptations.

Ingredients: 1 tbsp olive oil, 3 eggs, 1 medium potato diced, 1/4 cup onion, salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Cook potato and onion in oil on high heat until potatoes have browned, while scrambling the eggs. Try to drain off as much oil as you can from the pan and return pan to burner, turning heat to medium. Cover potatoes and onion with egg and allow to cook for about two minutes, or until it begins to solidify on the bottom and edges. Then, move pan to broiler for about 2-3 minutes to finish cooking the egg. Dash with salt and pepper to your liking and eat. ¡Buen provecho!

AND IT’S DONE!

I now really, really want to go back to Spain! The tortilla was just as delicious as I remembered, though I think it could have used more onions and maybe a tiny bit of garlic for the flavoring. That’s not to say it was bland, but I think it would taste even better if those flavors were heightened.The egg turns out kind of spongy if it’s done right and it’s incredibly filling.

Also, one of the best things about this recipe is that it’s so easy and quick to make. The only real prep you do is chopping up a potato and some onion. If you can crack an egg, you can make this dish. So, it’s perfect if you’re just learning how to really cook.

OK, I’ve got to get going! My flight to Pittsburgh leaves Jacksonville in four hours, so I have to hit the road! See you in PA!

One comment

  1. Pingback: Gazpacho! « More Than Easy Mac

Leave a Reply

