Recipes

Maybe I Should Just Get Thai In Restaurants

I realized after my last post I didn’t tell you about my venture into making Thai food for the first time!

I’ve been meaning to try a recipe for eggplant basil the past few days, well really since my sister ordered it at a restaurant  in Pittsburgh last week. I figured it couldn’t be that hard. Of course, the whole bug incident sort of stopped any cooking plans I had on Thursday. But last night, I finally ventured into a whole new cooking world.

I love Asian food for the most part. And while I’m guilty of ordering General Tso’s way too often (I’ve never actually understood why it is on Thai or Vietnamese menus when it’s really a Chinese dish), I do love most of the other dishes as well. I’ve just never tried to cook any of them. But since this blog is all about learning to cook and trying new dishes, I decided it was time to conquer my  fears and go for it.

After some Googling earlier in the week, I found a relatively easy recipe. I chopped up the veggies in the morning to cut down my prep time at night.

Now, the recipe I found only calls for eggplant, but I chopped up cauliflower and a green pepper as well. I actually didn’t use the green peper in the end though, mostly because I felt like there wasn’t enough room in the frying pan.

Ingredients: 1 eggplant chopped up (I only used about half an eggplant for one person), cauliflower, 2 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp soy sauce, 1/3 cup chopped basil, 2 garlic cloves chopped, 1 tbsp red pepper flakes, rice

Directions: Saute garlic in the olive oil for about two minutes, then add eggplant, cauliflower, soy sauce and red pepper flakes. Cook for about three to five minutes, or until veggies are tender and then add the rice (already prepared separately) for flavoring.

I had leftover rice that I used for this dish, otherwise you’d have to cook it before you add it in with the recipe. The recipe simply called to serve rice with the veggies, but I think cooking it in the pan makes it more a part of the dish by spreading the flavor throughout the rice.

One minor problem while cooking — I ran out of soy sauce! I must have for some reason thought that I had a never ending bottle of soy sauce because I’ve had it for quite a while and have used it regularly. But mid Thai food experiment, I ran out. I had enough for about 1 tbsp instead of the required two.  Eek!

Overall Verdict: I really don’t know how I feel about this dish (or my ability to cook Thai food). It wasn’t bad, but it isn’t necessarily something I’d ravenously crave. I think part of it is that I’m not a huge eggplant person. It’s just not my favorite veggie. The flavoring was still pretty good I think, despite the lack of soy sauce. I think I’ll just have to try another Thai dish before I give up on it totally.  Maybe something with noodles…

Leave a Reply

