Uncategorized

Gazpacho!

You’d think by now I’d have learned I can’t start cooking at 9:30 p.m. and hope to eat at a normal time. 🙂

But, alas, I apparently have not. A busy day at work combined with a 5 mile walk got me ready to cook at my late start time. But hey, Spanish dish = Spanish dining time?

In addition to tortillas, mi familia in Spain served gazpacho quite often. Though, it was store bought and the version from the box was smooth. The recipe I found called for a more chunky approach and I was quite willing to try it. I did run into a few speed bumps along the way though.

For instance, I wasn’t entirely sure if regular white vinegar or white wine vinegar could be used interchangeably. Google told me no, so I did buy some white wine vinegar at the store.

I also discovered that my big blender doesn’t work so well when blending vegetables. (Don’t worry, I cut it into chunks before I really tried to blend it. I just wanted to see how it would work)

Little food chopper to the rescue! You rock mini food processor.

Ingredients: 1 cucumber halved and seeded, 4 plum tomatoes, red onion, 2 peppers (I used green, the recipe called for red), 3 garlic cloves minced, 3 cups tomato juice, 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, pepper to taste

Directions: Chop the veggies into cubes and put them in the processor. Pulse until the veggies are coarsely chopped. (I may have over processed a bit) Put them all into a big bowl and then add the juice, olive oil, vinegar and garlic. Sprinkle with pepper and then chill before serving.

Big bowl of gazpacho…

I let it chill for about a half hour. I was really hungry, so I just couldn’t wait any longer! I was really nervous about tasting it though. I wasn’t sure if I would like it or if I had screwed it up.

It was still too warm when I tried it,  so I only had a few bites and ate a turkey cheese wrap instead. The gazpacho struck me as a little too oily though, but I’m not sure if that was because it wasn’t cold enough yet or not. There was also a bit of an aftertaste that I wasn’t crazy about and couldn’t totally identify. It was just like a really bad, oily salsa. So, I’m going to try it tomorrow when it’s colder and see what I think. But so far, I’m thinking I just need to go find a store that sells it and buy it there.

In the meantime, does anybody out there have a good gazpacho recipe?

2 thoughts on “Gazpacho!

  1. gazpacho recipe: just came back from Andalucia, Spain.
    The version there is smooth as silk, tomato based with some ground up French type bread as thickener, pureed cukes, onion and garlic. No olive oil or just a smudgen, garnished with diced tomatoes, cukes and sweet onions.
    1.5 pd fresh or canned tomatoes ( cooks magazine, just rated Hunts’ brand petite diced as best flavor and texture)
    1 med, green pepper, 1 small sweet onion. i small cuke, 4 tbs wine vinegar, red or white. 1/4 tsp tarragon, 1/4 tsp sugar, 1 clove or more chopped garlic, 1 cup tomato juice or ice water to thin, 4 slices of French bread, crust removed.
    soak bread in water, wring out water, pulse bread, tomatoes, cuke, pepper, garlic in blender or food processor until smooth, add spices, blend briefly. Chill, serve with chopped up cuke, tomato and onions for garnish. Serves 6 or one hungry person over several meals

Leave a Reply

