Summer Foods — Chicken Salad

One of the things I love about summer is the food. I love hot dogs and hamburgers, grilled anything, lemonade, fresh fruit, etc. In fact, I think that I will very soon  OD on watermelon or cantaloupe. It’s a problem. 🙂

When I sat down today to make my weekly menu/shopping list, I couldn’t figure out what to make. It’s been so hot in Florida the past week and a half (high 90s to 100) that eating anything heavy is out of the question. So, I made my mission this week to come up with five summery lunches or dinners. I have thus far come up with chicken salad sandwiches, pesto pizza, fruit plate and a quiche. OK, that’s only four. I originally had a pasta on there too, but my grocery list was getting rather large, so I might make it next week.

Tonight’s meal was chicken salad, which I’ve been meaning to make for ages. I used a “Spark People” recipe and then added my own touch (Ok, this is more of my Mom’s touch. It’s just me making it for the first time).

Ingredients: 1 chicken breast, 1/4 cup halved grapes, 2 tbsp low fat mayo, Pillsbury pizza dough, two tbsp olive oil, rosemary

Directions: Unroll pizza dough on to cookie sheet and bake for 5 minutes at 425 degrees. Then brush with oil and sprinkle rosemary over it. Return to the oven for about 2-3 minutes. Meanwhile, sprinkle pepper and salt over chicken breast and boil it until it is cooked through. Remove it from water and allow it to cool before shredding it. Put chicken and grapes into bowl and add mayo, mixing it through evenly. Cut bread so it can be used for sandwiches and place chicken mixture on bread to eat. Serve with a side of fruit.

The best part of this recipe? It allowed me to use these babies.

The Easter Bunny brought me them in the spring, and I had yet to use them. They were perfect for spreading the olive oil over the crust.

I actually only covered half of the crust with rosemary because the other half is being used for pesto pizza. I did have a tiny, minor mishap with the crust. I kinda forgot it was in the oven after I put it back in with the olive oil and rosemary. Oops.

It was only slightly browner than it was supposed to be. Not too bad at all. 🙂

What really makes this recipe is the bread I think. The chicken salad was just OK, but nothing stellar. The bread, however, also brings the calories, particularly if you had way too big a serving as I did. I really could have just eaten the bread by itself. So tasty.

Leave a Reply

