News

For The Love Of Saturday

Oh Saturday, I’m so happy to see you!

It was actually a pretty good week — I got a lot of stories done, went out with friends, spent some significant time at the pool. But I’m still happy it’s the weekend. 🙂

* You-can-do-it bbq from the Gainesville Sun. Did I mention my office’s favorite bbq joint closed down?  This is a travesty. The corporate owners are looking for a new local owner though, so it may be back. We’re all holding out hope. They make a fabulous pulled pork sandwich on Texas toast. Not the healthiest thing in the world, but so good.

* Sometimes you just need some unhealthy foods, writes a Washington Post columnist whose job is to make recipes healthier.

* The author of “French Women Don’t Get Fat,” Mireille Guiliano, is on tour with her new cookbook. Any readers of “Lunch in Paris” out there? Didn’t you love the line in Elizabeth Bard’s book about French women not getting fat because of  mothers-in law?

* The NY Times’ Diners’ Journal does a reader Q&A with Fred Plotkin, author of “Italy for the Gourmet Traveler.” Here’s round 1, round 2 and round 3 of the questions. I wanna go to Italy. (I also say that every time I watch “Under the Tuscan Sun.” Sigh.

*Recipe roundup: A grilled veggie salad from Washington Post, Montauk Fizz (ginger beer) from Bon Appetit, Indian-style rice by Elise, a summer stir fry by the Pioneer Woman and no-bake pies from the Biloxi Sun-Herald.

OK, that’s it for me. I hear the pool calling my name! Happy Saturday!

Leave a Reply

