Uncategorized

Night Time Baking Adventures

Only good things can come of an 8 p.m. decision to go swim laps and then bake banana nut muffins. Some days you just gotta bake it out. 🙂

In my case, it was sort of fake baking (I used a Betty Crocker mix). I don’t usually use a mix for muffins, but, I bought this on a whim one day as I walked through the baking aisle. It only requires the mix, two eggs, 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 3/4 cup milk.

I had one teeny, tiny problem. I ran out of eggs! I swear I had about three or four left. Apparently, I had only one and the recipe called for two. This is why you should check to make sure you have everything before you start. Oops.

So, I decided to go with one egg, assembled the batter and popped it in the oven.

And out came….

The lack of an egg didn’t seem to matter in the end. (I clearly had to sample one even though it was about 10 p.m. by this time).

They were still quite light and tasty, though I always think banana nut muffins flavoring is kind of fake. But I’m not really complaining and plan on eating them. I’m still debating whether these are going to the office or remaining in my kitchen for me to eat all week. Hmmm.

One thought on “Night Time Baking Adventures

  1. Isn’t that interesting? I just assumed that one less egg would make a huge difference. Although, now that I think about it, I don’t even know what an egg adds to the batter…richness? binding? Glad your muffins turned out well 🙂

Leave a Reply

