Something’s Fishy

I LOVE flounder. I really do. And I haven’t had it in forever.

My favorite flounder dish involves lots of cheese — my mom has been making this recipe forever.  Let me tell you, any health benefits earned by eating fish are canceled out by the wine, butter and  cheese used to make the sauce. But it’s totally worth it.

However, it’s a huge undertaking and really works if you have a lot of people to eat it.  I just have me. But for some reason, I bought flounder at Publix on Sunday. And then I didn’t know what to do with it.

After some poking around on a few different recipe sites, I couldn’t find anything I totally liked. So, I decided to come up with my own recipe.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. This could be bad. Remember the bean-sausage creation? Not my best stuff there.

So, here’s what I did.

Ingredients: 1 fish filet, pepper, some tomatoes diced (probably about two tbsp — sorry, didn’t measure), 1 tsp olive oil, feta cheese, and about 5 sliced baby bells. (I basically already had this stuff in the kitchen).

Directions: Pepper both sides of the filet, then spread olive oil on the inside of the filet, rubbing it into the skin. spread feta cheese (as much as you want), tomatoes and baby bellas on the inside. Then roll it up (this was a bit tricky — ingredients falling out) and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until fish is cooked all the way through.

Serve with veggies and you have an amazing meal. I will pat myself on the back for this one. Unlike the bean-sausage disaster, this was really, really good. All the flavors just complemented each other really well, and it was very fresh and light. The perfect summer meal.

2 comments

  1. gmomj · July 1, 2010

    That’s a very clever way to do flounder.
    The thing about flounder is that it’s a very mild tender fish so you might want to try a shorter bake time next round.
    30 minutes on 350 for a rolled fillet will typically dry out the outside and possibly because of the filling ingredients leave the inside underdone.
    Sorry I’m a fish fanatic. We eat ours almost like the bears. Grabbing the salmon live out of the stream. I know gross.
    Just for kicks…try braising your rolled filet sometime. Secured with a toothpick,put a bit of oleo and wine in a skillet with a small amount of seasoning..salt pepper,oregano…even a pinch of sugar. and braise on a medium heat for 10 minutes. don’t even turn the fish. You do cover the skillet and spoon the juices over the fish every few minutes.

    That should be good.
    Happy fourth!
    Hope you don’t mind my remarks. love your pictures.

    • khaughney · July 1, 2010

      Thanks so much for your comment! I love that you said oleo. My aunts still call margarine that all the time.

Leave a Reply

