A Happy 4th of July Weekend

Good morning, everyone!

The three day weekend is here, it’s sunny outside after several days of rain and it’s going to be a food-tastic weekend. OK, that was corny and I apologize. But it really is. Some friends are having a cookout tomorrow to celebrate America’s bday and I’m making homemade baked beans and German potato salad (recipes for that later). Another friend is making mac ‘n’ cheese and other friends are chipping in on the beer, baked goods, etc.  How can you not love a cookout?

And I hear there may be sparklers. 🙂

You’ll just have to wait for recipes and pictures from that, but until then, I have lots of foodie news to keep you busy.

* Mix Venezuelan and Italian cooking heritages and you get Rossana, a D.C. real estate agent profiled in the Washington Post for her emphasis on healthy, fresh cooking.

* It’s all about wine. I love wine and I’ve been thinking I need to go hang out at a vineyard/winery sometime soon. This was not helped by a friend’s recent return from northern California where she stopped in Sonoma and Napa for some wine. I want to go! Anyway, to add to that, my friend Ali from college (WE ARE…PENN STATE) wrote up this piece in the Times about Pennsylvania wine trails and I came across this piece in the Post about ones in Delaware.

* Post College Cook Alison says don’t kill yourself while grilling. I agree. Lucky for me, I’m not in charge of the grilling at the Sunday cookout. The Chicago Tribune gives some recipe ideas (including cocktails) for your Sunday parties.

* Interesting post in the Tribune’s food blog that details a study from Univ. of Michigan that found people have misconceptions about organic food. They assume it  is lower cal than the non-organic alternatives and thus start skipping exercise or other healthy activities.

* Recipe Roundup From Some of My Favorite Sites: Beer can chicken (haven’t had that in a while, may have to try it), berry recipes for the 4th, and deviled eggs. And from The Minimalist, Greek Fish.

OK, that’s all for me. I’m out!

Leave a Reply

