Recipes

Accidental Blog-cation

I accidentally took a blog-cation this week. I’m not sure exactly what happened — long, tiring week combined with no desire to cook is probably the root of it.

But I’m back now and better than ever! Or, something like that. So, I feel the need to recap my disastrous 4th of July cooking adventures pre an epic party that included lots of good food, sparklers, random dance parties and a game of Taboo.

OK, it’s a week late, but still a new recipe.

It all started out so well. I was making brownies and German potato salad. I was feeling quite in control even though I’d never made potato salad.

The brownies were in the oven.

I was preparing the potatoes and bacon needed for the potato salad.

And then, I had a total kitchen meltdown.

The brownies got a little burned. OK, not a little burned, a lot burned. As in smoke-coming-out-of-the-oven- these -cannot- be- served- to-human beings burned.

Having never burned brownies before, I sort of stared at them confused for a while.  I wasn’t even sure what had happened. It resulted in a text and phone call with two of my friends. The male friend just said everyone would live without the brownies and the female friend laughed hysterically and asked how it was possible that I burned brownies. I love my friends.

A week later, it seems kind of funny. I still don’t know how the hell I burned brownies.

Well, in my frustration over the brownies, I didn’t take a picture of how the potato salad turned out. I think it tasted OK,  but I may have been still upset over the brownies at that point. So, I apologize to any of my friends who I inflicted it upon if it was truly dreadful.

Ingredients: 1/2 pound bacon, 1/2 cup chopped onion, 2 tbsp flour, 2 tbsp plus 2 tsp sugar, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp celery seed, 1/4 cup vinegar (cider is best says my Mom),  6 cups sliced potatoes (red skinned is best and you sort of have to guess how many will make six cups. I’d say about 5), parsley for garnish.

Directions:  Boil potatoes until tender and peel before cutting into slices. Cook bacon until crisp; drain and crumble, reserving 1/2 cup fat. Cook onion in reserved fat till tender. Blend in flour, sugar, salt, celery seed, and dash pepper. Add vinegar and 1/2 cup water. Add more water if you want it thinner. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Add bacon and potatoes, heat thoroughly, tossing lightly. Garnish with parsley. Serves 5 or 6.  Recipe can be doubled if needed.


One thought on “Accidental Blog-cation

Leave a Reply

