Recipes

Crepes Try II

I’m not sure what possessed me, but I got up early and made crepes this morning for breakfast.  I’m not particularly gifted when it comes to making crepes. Well, to be honest, I’ve only made them once and I felt that they turned out rather bland.

I had originally contemplating adding vanilla extract, but my mom suggested either adding crushed almonds or almond extract. I opted not to spend time crushing almonds.

Ingredients: 1 cup flour, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 2 tbsp melted butter,1 tsp almond extract, powdered sugar. Fruit or filling of your choice. I used peaches, strawberries and bananas.

Directions: Whisk together flour, eggs, water, milk, butter and almond extract. Pour 1/4 cup batter onto a sprayed pan and tilt pan until the batter covers the pan evenly. Cook for two minutes on medium heat and flip to the other side. Rub a pinch of sugar into the dough before placing fruit in wrap and then sprinkle some more on top.

I didn’t quite realize how strong almond extract is because it was definitely a present flavor in the crepes  when I ate them. I think maybe half a tsp might be better, or just regular vanilla extract, so it is  more of a hint, not an overwhelming flavor.

I also almost forgot the butter! I had already made two of the crepes when I realized I had never melted the butter to put into the batter. Oops.  🙂

My other big struggle with crepes is the action of cooking them in the skillet.  Once the skillet is heated, the batter cooks so fast that it is difficult to get the batter to cover the whole pan evenly. I discovered about halfway through that the trick is to already hold the pan at an angle when you pour in the batter. Previously, I was pouring it into the pan when it was sitting on the burner and then tilting it. As a result, I did get a few awkwardly shaped crepes.

But at the end of the day, this was the result…mmm fruit.

2 thoughts on “Crepes Try II

Leave a Reply

