Recipes

I Scream, You Scream, We All Scream Zucchini!

Holy deliciousness…

I cannot tell a lie, I’ve been dreaming about these zucchini muffins since I read Jenna’s post on Eat, Live, Run about a week ago.  Since deciding I needed to learn to cook and starting this blog, I have made apple cake, banana nut bread and pumpkin bread. But I had yet to make zucchini bread/muffins.

I bought the zucchini on Monday and finally by last night, I was ready to take the plunge.

One thing I forgot was the cupcake paper to line the tin. Ooops. 🙂

Ingredients: 1.5 cups all purpose flour, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup packed brown sugar, 1.5 cups grated zucchini (about two small-medium sized ones — I probably used closer to two cups zucchini), 1/2 tsp salt, 2 eggs, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/3 cup canola oil, 2 tsp baking powder, Cinnamon and sugar for topping

Directions: Preheat the oven to 375. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugars, salt, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg. Set aside.

In a medium sized bowl, combine the grated zucchini, eggs, vanilla and oil. Stir well to combine and then gently stir into the flour mixture. In her directions, Jenna @ Eat, Live, Run notes not to overdo it on the stirring or the muffins will become too dense. I can see that happening after tasting mine. I would not describe them as dense, but they weren’t super light either.

Fill lined muffin tins about 3/4th of the way up with the batter and then sprinkle cinnamon and sugar on each. Bake for about 30 minutes or until golden. (OK, I forgot the sprinkling part, but they were still tasty!)

OK, off to the gym and office for me! Happy Thursday!

Leave a Reply

