Recipes

Pancakes Are Always a Good Way To Start the Day

Have I ever mentioned that I love pancakes?

Don’t worry, I only ate two!

My favorite pancakes are pecan pancakes from the Waffle Shoppe in State College, Pa., home to my alma mater. But, I am always looking for new pancake recipes and/or mixes to try. So far, I’ve tried oatmeal pancakes  and pumpkin pancakes.

So, as I meandered through Publix the other day, I saw this in the Greenwise market section (read: organic).

Once I saw it, I was a goner. I had to buy the mix and try it out.

Ingredients: 3/4 cup pancake mix, 1/2 cup milk (I use skim), 1 egg and 1 tbsp canola oil

Directions: Mix together and pour 1/4 cup at a time onto griddle or frying pan. When it starts to thicken or bubble, flip to the other side.

As you can see from the first picture, I’ve not quite mastered the ability of cooking the pancakes evenly so they are a nice golden brown like they are in restaurants. Oh well! 🙂

Also, a funny thing. I like my pancakes with applesauce. It’s not that I don’t love butter and syrup — trust me, I do — but I really love them with applesauce. When my sister and I were little, our mom would sometimes make breakfast for dinner as a treat. Except, she would put applesauce on the pancakes instead of syrup. So, now, as an adult, I think pancakes should come with applesauce.

The jury is still out on these pancakes. There were light and tasty, but I may have to try the leftovers with syrup and butter for breakfast tomorrow or next week to check out that flavoring. I felt like I was conscious that I was eating something healthy when I was chewing, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing. But it’s not something I usually associate with pancakes.

One thought on “Pancakes Are Always a Good Way To Start the Day

Leave a Reply

