Mmm, More Sandwiches

I had this whole great plan about going home for lunch and making a huge spinach salad and a peach-quinoa salad. But then I got home and realized I didn’t have some of the necessary ingredients for the peach-quinoa concoction.

So, I decided to try ciabatta sandwich part II, this time with veggies.

Ingredients: Ciabatta bread slices, thinly sliced mozzarella cheese, your choice  of veggies (I used sliced portabella mushrooms, plum tomato slices and basil), balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil

Directions: Brush the outer sides of the bread with extra virgin olive oil and the inside with balsamic vinegar. Place ingredients on sandwich. Spray a frying pan with nonstick cooking spray and grill sandwich on each side for a few minutes.

At some point, I need someone to show me how to make a sandwich where the ingredients aren’t all falling out. I probably used a bigger chunk of bread because I had mushrooms and basil falling out of the sandwich at different times. I also majorly struggled to flip the sandwich. It wound up on its side for a moment before I got a big spatula to flip it properly (I was trying to do it with a knife and that just didn’t work).

I also had a tiny bit of burning on the top of the sandwich, though it didn’t affect the taste. Overall, I actually liked this sandwich better than the ham-mozzarella-basil one from Monday. I think the difference was that I used more balsamic vinegar this time and the cheese started to melt.

Pair it with some peach slices…

And back to work I go!

Increasing the state share of education funding to 61% from the current level of 53% as the CFO is reported to be proposing today would mean the state would need an additional $2.46 billion state dollars to maintain funding at the 2010-2011 level.

It should not go without mentioning that the state is already facing a multi-billion dollar shortfall for next year and the Long Term Outlook shows significant shortfalls going forward into the future.

Leave a Reply

