Recipes

It Wasn’t Meant To Be

Quinoa, I tried to like you, I really did. But we just weren’t meant to be.

I really wanted to like you, I really did. You’re supposed to be healthier, organic, etc.  You fit in so well with my try to cook new recipes/eat healthy mantra.  But, we failed to make a connection.

How did I decide to make a quinoa dish? It’s really the fault of Cooking Light. I was reading it on the plane to Nashville and decided I had to make this peach-quinoa salad at some point.

At 10 p.m. last night, I decided to make it as a side to my flounder. (I was eating Spanish-style. Long day at work + young professionals event + swimming at 9:15 p.m. = late night dinner)

Ingredients: 1.5 cups water, 3/4 cup quinoa, 1 sliced ripe peach, 1/4 cup chopped red pepper, 3 tbsp lemon juice, 1.5 tbsp olive oil, 1.5 tsp honey, 1/4 tsp black pepper

Directions: Bring 1.5 cups water to boil and add quinoa. Lower temperature and allow it to simmer for about 20 minutes.  Remove from heat and allow quinoa to cool for a few minutes. Then add the the pepper, lemon juice, olive oil, honey, pepper and peach slices.

I admit to being skeptical after I removed the quinoa from the heat. I didn’t particularly like the look or smell of it and I questioned whether I’d be wasting a perfectly good peach by throwing it into the grain.  But, I forged ahead, determined to try it.

I want my peach back.

I think that quinoa is just not my thing, but I’m not swearing it off completely as I still have a lot left and have to use it some way. Any ideas?

It did at least look nice with my flounder and spinach salad.

3 thoughts on “It Wasn’t Meant To Be

  1. Awww, I’m sorry quinoa didn’t do it for you 😦 We had it the first time, recently, as a rice substitute under Albondigas (lamb meatballs) and really liked it. Maybe it just needs a different pairing?

  2. I love quinoa! It’s a staple in my kitchen, but I’m not sure I would ever pair it with peaches. I think maybe cooking light (which I also love) led you a stray. My favorite way to eat it is just add some salsa, cheese, onion, avocado or any combination of those. Some times I put spaghetti sauce on it. And some times I use it to top a lettuce salad.

Leave a Reply

