Recipes

Peaches, Peaches and More Peaches

Oh peach cobbler, I love you.

One of my girlfriends last minute decided to throw together a Labor Day gathering, so I decided it was time I tried to make peach cobbler. I’d been seeing recipes for it everywhere and I wanted to try it myself. (I wish peaches were in season all year long)  Sadly, you won’t see a picture of the cobbler a la mode because I forgot to whip out the camera when we were actually eating it, but let me tell you, it was delicious. My friend Lindsay joked that she was just going to eat that for dinner.

It is sweet, but the type of sweet that makes you want to keep eating until before you know it you’re in a sugar coma. Thank goodness a bunch of my girlfriends were helping to eat it (I still actually have some left over).

Here’s the  Food Network recipe I followed:

Ingredients: 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted, 1 cup all-purpose flour, 2 cups sugar, 3 teaspoons baking powder, Pinch salt, 1 cup milk, 4 cups peeled, pitted and thinly sliced fresh peaches (5 to 6 medium peaches), 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice, Several dashes ground cinnamon or ground nutmeg (optional)

Directions: Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Pour the melted butter into a 13 by 9 by 2-inch baking dish.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, 1 cup sugar, the baking powder, and the salt and mix well. Stir in the milk, mixing until just combined. Pour this batter over the butter but do not stir them together.

In a small saucepan, combine the peaches, lemon juice, and remaining cup of sugar and bring to a boil over high heat, stirring constantly. Pour the peaches over the batter but do not stir them together. Sprinkle with cinnamon or nutmeg if desired.

Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes or until the top is golden-brown. Serve warm or cold.

Some Funny,Yet Fruitful Mistakes: Lesson 1 — Thou shall not gchat and bake at the same time. I frequently put my laptop in the kitchen when I am looking at a recipe online instead of printing it out. And when your best grad school pal who’s in Ukraine with the Peace Corps gets online, it frequently leads to distraction. Thus, I forgot to add the cup of milk to the recipe. Completely forgot it.  But somehow, the cobbler turned out just fine without it. My friends were all talking about how good it was, so apparently not adding milk is not the end of the world.

Also, I had run to the store to pick up the peaches and found that they weren’t particularly ripe, leaving me to wonder how that would affect the recipe. It made it ten times easier. Because the peaches were still hard, they were easier to peel and they softened up anyway when baked.

Best With: I served it with French Vanilla ice cream, but I think cinnamon ice cream may have been a good combo too.

And with that, I’m off to the ol’ job!

Leave a Reply

