Recipes

A Little Bit of Balsamic

Happy Saturday!

I’ve determined that balsamic vinegar just makes everything a little bit better.

My friend Lynn and I spent some serious time at the gym this morning, so I wanted a pretty light, but filling lunch afterward. Thus, I bring you apple quesadillas with a balsamic reduction!

Partly to be healthy and partly because I only had one wheat tortilla left, I really only made half a quesadilla, but it was the perfect lunch with spinach leaves.

The new part of this recipe is the balsamic reduction. I have made the apple-cheese combination before, but I usually eat it with salsa. I remembered though that one of my favorite Tallahassee restaurants, 101, puts a balsamic reduction on its quesadillas.

I honestly had no idea how balsamic reduction was made. Learning that all it involved was boiling, then reducing the heat on balsamic vinegar made me wonder why I hadn’t tried it before. Lesson learned. I’m feeling quite accomplished now. 🙂

Ingredients: 1 wheat tortilla, 1 small apple cored and cut into pieces, cheese of your choice (I used shredded colby jack), balsamic vinegar

Directions: For quesadilla, take one wheat tortilla and place on quesadilla maker (can be done on frying pan too), and put apple chunks and cheese on one half. Fold rest of tortilla over the apple and cheese mixture and cook until cheese has melted and tortilla has browned a bit. For the balsamic reduction, pour balsamic vinegar into a small pot and cook on high heat until it is boiling. Then reduce heat to low so that the vinegar thickens. When finished, drizzle the balsamic reduction over the quesadilla.

Tasty and lovely. That’s all I’m saying.

Adios!

Leave a Reply

