Recipes

Autumn Goodness

Things that were awesome about this weekend: Penn State and Steeler victories.

A good book to read (courtesy of Rachel, who likes blog shout outs)…

And pumpkin cookies!

I got a little excited when I went to the grocery store and realized pumpkin was back in season. So I bought two cans without any real plan for them.

After a fairly short amount of time, it was decided that can 1 would be used for pumpkin cookies and pumpkin oatmeal, neither of which I had ever made. Pumpkin can 2 might be used for pumpkin bread, but my mom, who I talked to as the Steeler game was concluding,  suggested a pumpkin roll.  (She also said I should put cream cheese icing on the cookies, but I didn’t have any handy. Oh well. )

Ingredients: 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 1/3 cups quick or old-fashioned oats, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened, 1 cup packed brown sugar, 1 cup granulated sugar, 1 cup pumpkin, 1 large egg, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract, 3/4 cup chopped walnuts

(Optional: You could add chocolate chips or raisins. I just wanted plain pumpkin though.)

Directions: In medium bowl, combine flour, oats, baking soda and cinnamon. In larger separate mixing bowl, blend together the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until it is fluffy. Add pumpkin and egg, stirring it into the mixture.  Then, transfer the dry ingredients to the large mixing bowl and combine. Finally, stir in walnuts. Spoon gobs of batter onto a baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes at  350 degrees.

A) I really like pumpkin, so I am a little in love with these cookies. If you don’t like spongy, pumpkin-y cookies, they’re probably not your thing.

B) The recipe made 40, but I ate two, so I have 38 left.

C) I’m pretty sure these will go perfectly with French vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

