Recipes

Fall In Florida

I returned from the Midwest and found that autumn had come to Florida!

Well, sort of. What I mean is there was a low in the 40s last night and the high today is in the 70s.  So, out come the sweaters, tights and boots!

Pumpkin oatmeal clearly had to be made.

I’d been thinking about pumpkin oatmeal for about a week now, but hadn’t had a chance to make it.  I’ve actually never made it before, but it seemed like a good idea.

The ingredients were assembled.

Ingredients: 1 cup milk, 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup pumpkin, cinnamon, chopped walnuts, 1 tsp brown sugar

Directions: Combine milk and oats in pot and stir, bringing it to a boil. Add in pumpkin and as much cinnamon as you want and stir. Pour into bowl and stir in brown sugar and walnuts.

I actually did not include the brown sugar at first, but when I tasted it, I thought it was missing something, so I went back to the kitchen.

I stirred it in and voila!

I still wasn’t completely happy with it even though the brown sugar definitely helped. I thought the pumpkin taste was too muted.  However, it was really, really filling and I liked having warm, creamy oatmeal in the nice cool fall air.

OK, gotta do some work now. Happy Monday!!

2 thoughts on “Fall In Florida

  1. Salt! The greatest flavor enhancer ever 🙂 But, if you don’t like the idea of salting your oatmeal (and who can blame you) a dash of lemon juice might have brought the pumpkin center-stage.

  2. I have been in the mood for pumpkin everything lately, but I never would have thought of pumpkin oatmeal.
    And YES, I understand the FL weather. I am loving it.

Leave a Reply

