Pecan Encrusted Tilapia

I know, I know. I haven’t been posting at all this week.  It’s been a stressful week, ok?

Anyway, I’m making up for it now with pecan encrusted tilapia. I got the idea for it after seeing almond encrusted tilapia by Anne at fANNEtastic Food.  I bought a big bag of frozen tilapia fillets two weeks ago at the store and have been looking for new ways to cook them. I’ve made it with olive oil and wine in a foil packet, with a chili rub and with a cheesy mix previously.

So last night, it was time to try it with pecans.

Ingredients: 1 fish fillet, 1/4 cup flour, 1/4 cup pecan chips, 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions: Combine the flour and half of the pecan chips in a blender/food processor. Then, pour flour mixture on a piece of wax paper and coat fish in the mixture. Pour tbsp of olive oil into frying pan and transfer fillet to the pan. Fry for about 3-4 minutes on each side. Then add the rest of the pecans to the pan to toast and then pour on top of the fish.

The extra pecans got a little too toasty.

I wish I’d taken the picture without the extra pecans on top. The blackened pecan chips make it look a little funny. But it was so delicious.  I loved the nutty flavor of it and the fish was cooked just perfectly.

OK, back to work! It’s almost the weekend!

Leave a Reply

