Recipes

Homemade French Onion Soup

The first time I made French onion soup was about 18 months ago. I had never made it before and found a recipe from Cooking Light that looked good. It called for low sodium broth, but in my naive way, I decided to just use bouillon cubes.  It was the same thing, right?

Oh no. It was a disaster. It was so salty that I might has well been drinking salt water. Blech!

This time, I had enough sense to go get the low sodium beef broth. And after poking around a site solely dedicated to French onion soup, I came up with something I thought would work.

Now, in my ideal world, I should be able to hack into Panera’s computers and steal the French onion soup recipe. I mean, come on. Who doesn’t love Panera’s French onion soup? That place just makes me happy. But I was actually pretty content with what I came up with.

Ingredients: 1 medium white onion thinly sliced, half of one red onion thinly sliced, 1 tbsp butter, two cans low sodium beef broth, one beef bouillon, French baguette bread or croutons, shredded Gruyere. Pepper and salt for seasoning.

Directions: Thinly slice onions and saute them in the butter in a big pot until they are very tender and sort of have that limp look. Then pour the two cans of broth into the pot and add the bouillon. Season with pepper as you see fit. (This is sort of to your taste, but I felt like I used a lot more than the usual dash) Let the soup simmer for 20 minutes. Meanwhile, shred the Gruyere and cut a few small pieces of bread to later put in the soup. When the 20 minutes is up, transfer the soup to a bowl and put the bread chunks into the broth and cover with the shredded Gruyere. Again, the amount of cheese is up to you. It depends on how cheesy you want your soup. Broil the soup for no longer than five minutes, remove from the oven and eat!

How much did I love this soup? A whole lot. I wasn’t sure if it was the Gruyere or the red onion that made the difference, but the combination of flavor just worked.  I felt like maybe I used a bit too much bread, but that didn’t affect the taste at all.

So amazingly, wonderfully, deliciously good.  One of my friends is talking about having a soup potluck, and I may have to bring this one. Other possibilities are bean soup or broccoli cheese. Doesn’t fall just make you want soup all the time?

OK, have to go now. Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Homemade French Onion Soup

  1. I’ve been meaning to comment on this one, I love the French Onion at Panera and I want to try this recipe so I don’t have to rely on a restaurant!

Leave a Reply

