Recipes

Spinach Pie

You know those foods that your mom made all the time when you were little that really make you think of home?

Enter spinach pie.

 

Yeah, I know it sounds funny that spinach pie is one of those recipes for me, but I love it. It’s right up there with my Mom’s lasagna, chicken piccata, rolled steak and stuffing. I can’t explain it. It’s just one of those things.

The recipe is fairly easy to make, unless you are like me and not reading the recipe that carefully. I had one tiny screw up — more on that later — but luckily, it did not wreck the dish.

_____________________

Ingredients: 1-10 oz package of spinach, thawed and drained, 8 oz feta cheese, 2 cups flour, 2 cups skim milk, 1 egg, 4 egg whites, 6 tbsp melted butter, 1/3 cup diced onions

Directions: Thaw and drain the spinach. Melt the butter.  In a large mixing bowl, combine the flour, milk, eggs, butter, onions, spinach and mix together. Pour into casserole dish and top with feta cheese. Bake for 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees.

_____________________

So, when I said I had one screw up, I actually had two. But the second one was just pure bad luck. My first mistake was I actually dumped the feta cheese into the mixture and started stirring. Oops. Not what I wanted to do. And you’d think I’d know that I shouldn’t do that after eating it for 25 years (or well, whenever I started eating it).

My second error came with the butter. Apparently, the container I put the butter in to melt had a tiny crack in it.  So when I opened the microwave to remove the butter, about half of it was all over the glass plate instead of in the tupperware container. Eeek!

Luckily, neither of these mishaps seemed to affect the taste too much. It didn’t taste exactly the same with the feta mixed into the pie instead of layered on top, but it actually muted the saltiness of the cheese. I love feta, but it can be a little overwhelming in this dish when it’s made properly. My dad actually hates it when my Mom and sister want to make it because he is not a feta fan.

So, now I have spinach pie to eat and eat and eat. It actually takes a while to eat the whole dish because it’s kind of heavy. In other words, leftovers for days.

Happy Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Spinach Pie

  1. Sounds delicious!

    You might want to check out the Mom Food Project (momfoodprodject.com) by Serene–she does just this sort of thing and accepts guests posts, too 🙂

Leave a Reply

