News

5Ks, Greek Food and Farms

It was a busy weekend.

There was a 5k walk for the Heart Association.

The Greek Food Festival! Sadly, I forgot my camera, but can I tell you how amazing a baklava sundae is?

And then today, my friend Rachel, her brother Andrew and I set out for a farm tour. We saw cows, sheep, chickens, and turkeys.

Is it bad that I immediately thought of Thanksgiving dinner when I saw these birds?

I came home from our last stop with a rosemary and oregano plants. If you’re ever in Madison, Fla., you must stop at O’Toole’s Herb Farm.

Needless to say, I didn’t cook a lot this weekend. But here are some weekly news tidbits.

* The latest research is saying that 1 in 3 adults will have diabetes by 2050. This is kind of scary since I have a family history of diabetes and love sugar.

* The history of candy and Halloween from the Atlantic.  I was trying to figure out what my favorite Halloween candy was as a kid. At first I thought snickers, then a friend mentioned Reese’s cups. There are also Kit-Kats. Too many to choose from! Am I forgetting any?

* The state of organic food and the confusion surrounding it, also in the Atlantic. Are you noticing a trend in my reading habits?

* A Washington Post profile of D.C. chef Frank Ruta, who owns the restaurant Palena and also did a stint as a White House chef.

OK, time to go. Enjoy the last few hours of the weekend!

2 thoughts on “5Ks, Greek Food and Farms

  1. There was also the Breast Cancer Walk at Southwood, yesterday. It really was a busy weekend!

    I was at the Greek Food Festival Friday night and even with my camera it only did so much good–the lighting really isn’t great for food photos but I managed a couple of semi-decent ones.

Leave a Reply

