Recipes

A Dark and Dreary Day

There was once a dark and dreary day.

It was the day I discovered that I couldn’t find my favorite pumpkin bread recipe.

A few days ago, I was sitting at work, writing away when I decided I wanted pumpkin bread. I brought up the blog and found the entry only to discover I hadn’t written the recipe down on the post. I had merely linked to the blog where the recipe originated. That’s where the problems began. The blog was no more!

I told my problem to a coworker who teased me about being picky because I dismissed the pumpkin bread results that Google found. I wanted this pumpkin bread recipe.

Alison to the rescue!

I found the link to the recipe through Alison’s blog Post College Cook, so like the social media nerd that I am, I tweeted Alison to see if she had a copy of the recipe written down. This was clearly a serious matter.

And being the smart journalist that she is, she actually had printed out the recipe and shared it with the world.

Pumpkin bread, it’s so nice to see you again!

I had to make some to celebrate.

Ingredients: 1 (15-ounce) can pure pumpkin puree, 1 cup canola oil, 3 cups sugar, 2 large eggs, 3 1/2 cups flour, 2 teaspoons baking soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder, 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves, 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, raisins, dried cranberries or nuts (optional)

Directions: Pour everything into a big bowl, combine and then transfer to two loaf pans. Bake at 350 for 55 minutes.

Leave a Reply

