Sunday News– Campaign Edition

Scene setter: Jacksonville area Starbucks. Big comfy chair, grande black ice tea. Laptop. Hair is a wreck because I’ve been up since 4 a.m., left Tally for Jacksonville at about 5:30 a.m.,  and it’s now almost 5 p.m.  And I feel like I have dark circles under my eyes, but I don’t really know if I do or not.

Welcome to campaign season! It’s two days until Election Day, which means I’m working this weekend. Two of my colleagues are in central and South Florida, while I patrolled Jacksonville today for campaign stops by FL’s Democratic gubernatorial candidate. I’ve sent off about 550 words to my editor that could get chopped in half or could form the majority of tonight’s coverage. I’m not entirely sure.

Anyway, I thought I’d take a break and post Sunday food news before I hit the road back to Tally. I get to spend Monday in Tallahassee, and then go to St. Petersburg for Tuesday, and then Gainesville for Wednesday and Thursday. Craziness!

Anyway, back to the point.

* The best croissant in New York, by Serious Eats. Who doesn’t love a good croissant? They’re buttery and dough-y and delicious.

* How Halloween and candy became friends, in the Atlantic. Kind of an interesting look at something that is clearly part of American culture.

* Despite the depression, you can still get a job waiting tables or flipping burgers, reports the LA Times.

* From Bon Appetit: Caramel-dipped apples and a tailgate drink for the beer averse.  I’m not sure I’d recommend making them together though.

OK, that’s it, minus a big birthday shout-out to my sister, who is 22-years-old today! Happy Birthday, Sarah!

See ya back in Tally!

3 comments

  1. Kelsey · October 31, 2010

    I didn’t realize you were in Tally! Us too.

    • khaughney · November 1, 2010

      Ooh, are you at FSU? I for some reason did not realize that you were here either.

      • Kelsey · November 1, 2010

        Yeah! Megan and I are both seniors at FSU.

Leave a Reply

