Menus

Bean Soup Morning

Don’t ask me what possesses a person to make bean soup at 8 a.m. when she could be eating a leisurely breakfast, reading the newspaper or just spending some extra time on her hair.

This was the start to my day…

I actually made this for the first time last winter, but as it is feeling deliciously like fall (Florida standards), I thought I’d break it out again. I meant to make it every day last week, but I had some late nights at work, so it just never came together.

So why not make it before work?

____________

Ingredients: 1 pound three bean mix (If you can’t find, use one pound navy beans, one pound kidney beans and one pound lima beans. Then take a third of each of these and mix), 6 cups water, 2 cups cooked ham cut into bite size pieces, 1 cup chopped onion, 1 cup chopped carrot, 1 stalk of chopped celery plus leaves, 1 to 2 tsp oregano, 1 to 2 tsp basil, 1 to 2 tsp rosemary, 1 to 2 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and two bay leaves.

Directions: Rinse beans in colander and drain. Combine ingredients in crock pot and cover. Cook either eight to 10 hours on low or four to five hours on high. Discard bay leaves before serving.

_____________

Health Note: The beans and ham combined equal about 800 calories and the veggies obviously have minimum caloric values. The original recipe that my mom sent me noted that you could either use water or chicken broth to make this soup, and I opted for the water.  Regardless of how many servings you divide the soup into, it’s a pretty healthy option. And I need that after yesterday’s adventures that included gas station hot chocolate, subway sub, chips and pop for lunch, and Wendy’s for dinner. Some lighter fare was definitely in order.

 

Well, I’m off to work. I’ll be back in a few hours to check on my soup!

 

Leave a Reply

