Recipes

Chicken Leftovers

My chicken from the other day was kind of just sitting in the refrigerator. There was a lot of chicken left over.

I’d eaten some the first night I made it and had a sandwich the next day. But since then, nothing.

Enter Mom.

I mentioned that when I came home from work the other day, she had made me fettuccine. She also made homemade chicken noodle soup. ❤

Ingredients: 48 oz chicken broth, egg noodles, 1 sliced carrot, cut up pieces of chicken, pepper to taste

UPDATE FROM MOM VIA FACEBOOK CHAT : “I read your blog on the soup. You will need to update it. 3 teaspoons bouillon granules and 3 cups water along with 48 oz chicken broth. I also added about 1/4 cup onions and 1 bay leaf. Oh and garlic,about 1/2 tsp chopped. Then taste the broth and add whatever you think it needs.”

Directions: Put it all in a pot and simmer on stove. Add pepper to taste.

(I need to double check with my mom to see if she added anything else)

But, I still had a lot of chicken left, so last night, I made a quesadilla.

Ingredients: 1/2 cup cheddar cheese (or more depending on your preference), cut up pieces of chicken, two tortillas

Directions: Normally, I make my quesadillas in a quesadilla maker, which is quite a handy device, but last night I made them in a frying pan. So, if you don’t have a quesadilla maker…spray pan or add butter. Lay down first tortilla with the cheese and chicken on top of it. Cover with second tortilla. Cook for a few minutes and then flip. You kind of have to keep checking so you don’t burn the tortilla. Mine burned a little bit. Oops.  🙂

I’ve still got chicken leftover.

My next plan is chicken salad.

What do you do with leftovers?

Leave a Reply

