Soup: It’s What’s For Dinner

Sometimes, dinner is meant to be inhaled.

OK, really, it’s not. But some days, you work until almost 9 p.m. and as a result, it just sort of happens. Oh well. 🙂

What I inhaled was mushroom-wild rice soup. I actually made it Wednesday (and failed to photograph the finished product) because my girlfriends and I were planning a soup and sauvignon party. But sadly, our hostess wound up with the flu, so we had to reschedule. (Feel better Stephanie!)

But, I still had soup left. I should also add that I started making it at 8:35 a.m. Wednesday and was still out the door to work by 9:15 a.m. I work best on deadline.

The mushroom-wild rice soup comes from my “Cooking With the Lion” cookbook that the Nittany Lion brought me for Christmas. It makes such a huge batch that my mom told me to cut it in half or I’d be eating soup for two weeks. I saw what she meant after I made my half version. Half was plenty for me.

Here’s the full version though:

Ingredients: 1 6-oz package of long grain and wild rice mixture, 1/3 cup butter, 1 medium onion chopped, 1/2 pound fresh mushrooms, sliced, 1/2 cup sliced celery, 1/2 cup flour, 6 cups chicken broth, 1/2 tsp curry powder, 1/2 tsp dry mustard, pepper for seasoning, 2 cups half and half, 2/3 cup dry sherry

Directions: Prepare rice according to directions. In large pot, melt butter over medium heat and add onion. Saute until golden. Add mushrooms and celery. Cook while stirring for about three minutes. Mix in flour. Gradually add broth, stir constantly until thickened. Stir in rice and seasonings. Reduce heat to low. Stir in half and half and sherry. Stir occasionally while heating, but do not boil.

* The cookbook notes that you can use low sodium broth and evaporated skim milk instead of half and half for healthy substitutes. I did this and I think it turned out great, but I’m not sure what it’s supposed to taste like anyway.

I also cheated a little bit on the rice. I just can’t make it in a pot. I don’t know why.

Don’t these onions cooking look lovely?

As I mentioned, I failed to photograph the final pot of soup or the bowl that I had for dinner. OK, I won’t lie. I had two bowls. I was so hungry.

I really enjoyed the taste of the soup. It was a  hearty, rustic tasting type of soup. But I’m not sure it’s the best soup I’ve ever made (hello French onion or roasted red pepper soup). However, with the rice and mushrooms, it is pretty filling and relatively healthy. OK, well, maybe not that healthy given all that butter.

I did have one mishap during the making of the soup (and I should say it is amazing that I didn’t get anything on my suit while I was cooking). I spilled some of the evaporated milk on my cookbook.

What can I say? I’m a klutzy cook.

Leave a Reply

