Chicken With Mushrooms

I didn’t write this yesterday, but you may have noticed I’ve been posting less  lately.

Let me tell you, it’s been a crazy month. In addition to a heavy work schedule over the past few weeks, I was offered a new job at the South Florida Sun-Sentinel to work in its statehouse bureau. It was a tough decision to leave the News Service of Florida, but I felt like it was the best decision for me, in the end. I will still be a politics and government reporter in Tallahassee, but it will be for a newspaper instead of a wire service. I start March 7.

On top of this, my best Tallahassee friend who also works at NSF, was offered a job at The Hill newspaper in D.C.  So, there hasn’t been a whole lot of cooking because we’ve been cramming in all sorts of farewell activities and packing on top of an already hectic work schedule.

There has been a little bit of cooking, but not a lot of new recipes and I haven’t really taken pictures.

One of the new recipes I did make about two weeks ago, was a chicken with mushroom recipe from allrecipes.com. Literally, I was looking for something to do with leftover mushrooms and I always keep frozen chicken breasts in my kitchen.

It was delicious, though eaten at about 10:30 p.m. one night.  The mushroom gravy that resulted was delicious over rice. I think I would serve wild rice with it normally, but I just had white rice on hand.  I also served mixed vegetables with it.

The ingredients below are for a serving of four. I cut it in half when I made it.

Ingredients: 3 cups sliced mushrooms, 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, 2 eggs, beaten, 1 cup seasoned bread crumbs, 2 tablespoons butter, 6 ounces shredded mozzarella, 3/4 cup chicken broth,

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Place half of the mushrooms in a 9×13 inch pan. Dip chicken into beaten eggs, then roll in bread crumbs. In skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Brown both sides of chicken in skillet. Place chicken on top of mushrooms, arrange remaining mushrooms on chicken, and top with mozzarella cheese. Add chicken broth to pan. Bake in preheated oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear.

Again, I apologize for my failure to take pictures of this, but I can’t say enough about the mushroom gravy that resulted. I wish that there had been a tiny bit more gravy, but other than that, it was so, so good!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Chicken With Mushrooms « More Than Easy Mac -- Topsy.com
  2. Kelsey · March 13, 2011

    How was the first week on the job?

Leave a Reply

