Uncategorized

Peanut butter-chocolate brownies

I have two confessions. OK, maybe three.

A) I have twice bought bags of peanut butter chips in the past month and a half intending to bake cookies or brownies. Instead, I ate them. (Don’t worry, it wasn’t all at once)

B) My grandpa bought me a fancy new mixer for Christmas after I broke my second hand mixer in two years baking Christmas cookies. And it stayed in the kitchen cabinet until two days ago. (I cannot tell a lie…it kind of intimidated me)

C) I actually used a recipe from the back of the candy bag. I’ve never done that. I usually rely on family recipes or allrecipes.com.

OK, now that those confessions are out of the way….

Ingredients:  1 stick butter, 1/4 cup peanut butter, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 3 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 2 cups flour, 2 tsp baking powder, 1-10z pack Reeses peanut butter chips, 1/2 cup chocolate syrup

*** Important note: The recipe called for Reese’s peanut butter, but I am a longtime JIF  peanut butter consumer. Therefore, there was going to be JIF in these brownies.

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter and peanut butter. Add sugar, brown sugar and eggs and mix. Blend in vanilla.

Add flour and baking powder and blend with mixture. Then stir in peanut butter chips.  Spread half of  mixture into greased pan. Spread chocolate syrup over the mixture and then add the second half of the peanut butter mixture. Swirl knife through  pan to create a marbled effect.

Bake at 350 for 35 to 40 minutes.

OK, I have to admit, when I took these out of the oven, I thought the chocolate syrup was a huge mistake. I thought they would be way too rich to eat.  They are rich (you don’t want more than one little piece), but they still taste decent. I’m not sure I’d add it to my baking rotation, but I’m just going with the theme of trying new recipes.

4 thoughts on “Peanut butter-chocolate brownies

Leave a Reply

