Uncategorized

The asparagus adventure

I confess: I really like asparagus, but I feel like I don’t know the best way to cook it.

I’ve tried just boiling it and eating it plain. I’ve also tried olive oil and parmesan cheese coating, which was OK.  But I haven’t honestly tried making it in over a year.  One problem is that  you have to buy so much at one time. When you’re cooking for one or two people, asparagus goes bad very quickly.

But I was paging through a magazine the other day, and there was asparagus.

It was time to try again.

From Bon Appetit:

Ingredients: Asparagus, 1 tbsp olive oil, pepper, balsamic vinegar (it said aged balsamic…I don’t know how aged it’s supposed to be… mine is just the run-of-the-mill stuff from Publix)

Directions:  Drizzle olive oil over asparagus and arrange on baking sheet. Pepper to taste. Roast at 400 degrees for about 15-17 minutes. Add balsamic vinegar to taste on top of them before eating/serving.

It was paired with:

Ingredients: 1 tilapia, 1 tbsp of olive oil, 1 tbsp of minced garlic, pepper

Directions: Pour olive oil and garlic into pan on low heat. Place fish in pan and pepper to taste on both sides. Cook on medium until the fish is done.

And then you get this for dinner…

One thought on “The asparagus adventure

Leave a comment