When Mom Comes to Visit…

…She cooks for me!

My mom, sister and grandpa drove from Pittsburgh to Tallahassee two weeks back (yes, I know I’ve been slacking on the posts) and while we went out to eat a few times, my mom was busy in the kitchen too.

One of the things I’ve realized since I moved to Florida three years ago is that I eat entirely differently when I’m in Pittsburgh than I do in Florida. I eat a lot lighter on my own. But when my mom visited, she made spaghetti pizza and pane italiano (out of my wonderful Nittany Lion cookbook!)

Ingredients: 1 large loaf Italian bread, olive oil, 2 cups canned Italian plum tomatoes drained, 1/2 cup tomato sauce, 1/2 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp oregano, 3/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp ppper, 1 small garlic clove minced, 4 ounces sliced pepperoni, 4 ounces sliced Itlaian salami, 4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese, 1/3 cup grated Romano cheese

Directions: Cut 1/2 inc slice off top of bread and hollow out inside of loaf, leaving a 1/2 inc shell. Brush inside and outside of loaf lightly with olive oil. Place on baking sheet and heat at 400 for five minutes until inside is dry, but not browned.

In medium saucepan, combine tomatoes, sauce, basil, oregano, salt, pepper, garlic, pepperoni and salami. Heat to buttlbing then lower heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in mozarella cheese.

Spoon mixture into hollowed out loaf and top with grated Romano cheese. Bake at 400 for 10-15 minutes until loaf is golden brown.

Cut into thick slices and serve hot!

Leave a Reply

