Uncategorized

Easiest roast you’ll ever make

Despite my lack of blogging, I’ve been cooking new things here and there.

A few weeks back, I decided to make All Day Roast, a staple in my mom’s family cooking. Yet somehow, I did not have a recipe for it. I’d never made it, but I just sort of assumed I had one because I have most of the recipes my mom makes on a regular basis.  I searched high and low through my cookbooks, computer files and random loose papers with recipes my mom had written out for me.

Time to call Mom.

I felt kind of silly after I called her because there are a total of three ingredients in the recipe, including the meat.

Ingredients:1 roast (it can be any kind of roast, but my mom advised me to get a roughly 2.5 lb chuck roast), 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 packet of onion soup mix

Directions: Put roast into the crock pot and cover with soup and onion mix.  Cook on high for about 4 hours.

Serve With: My mom has always served this over egg noodles with a side of mixed veggies. I thus cannot serve it any other way.

I failed to photograph the finished product, so you’ll have to take my word that this is delicious. My mom always makes this in the oven, but I personally prefer the crock pot.  I love cooking meat by crock pot because it is always amazingly tender afterward.

The one downside is that it is hard to serve neatly. I think I wound up using a big spoon to get portions out of the crockpot…you don’t even need a knife because the meat just falls apart on its own. But it is entirely worth the mess.

One thought on “Easiest roast you’ll ever make

Leave a Reply

