Uncategorized

Grilled Chicken Bruschetta

I love reading food blogs and magazines to get new recipes. Though I sometimes just throw stuff together, I like the order that comes with tried and true recipes.

One of my favorite blogs is Gina’s Skinny Taste. I don’t even remember how I found it any more to be honest.  The author started the blog as a project to adapt favorite recipes to the Weight Watchers point system. I’ve never done Weight Watchers, so I don’t really know how the point system works, but the recipes are all these delicious concoctions that just happen to be rather healthy. So it’s a win-win.

A few days ago, I was trolling sites looking for new recipes when I came across her Grilled Chicken Bruschetta. I like chicken and I like bruschetta, so this seemed like an excellent idea.

Ingredients: 3 medium vine ripe tomatoes, 2 small cloves garlic, minced, 1/4 cup chopped red onion, 2 tbsp fresh basil leaves, chopped, 1 tbsp extra virgin oil, 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, kosher salt and fresh cracked pepper to taste,  3 oz part skim mozzarella, diced, 1.25 lbs (8 thin sliced) chicken cutlets

Directions: Chop tomatoes and place in a large bowl. Combine with garlic, basil, onion-balsamic combo and additional salt and pepper to taste. Set aside and let it sit at least 10 minutes or as long as overnight. Toss in the cheese when ready to serve.

Season chicken with salt and fresh pepper. Grill the chicken cutlets on your indoor or outdoor grill, top with bruschetta and serve.

Note: I forgot to grab fresh basil, so I just used the seasoning I had handy in my kitchen. I also just thawed out a frozen chicken breast instead of getting nice pretty cutlets from the store. I also just used shredded mozzarella.

Leave a Reply

