Bon Appetit shrimp meets the NuWave Oven

I have a confession to make. When my grandpa gave me a NuWave Oven for my birthday, I didn’t really know what to do.  My grandfather had bought one for himself last year and he loved it, so he bought one for my parents for Christmas. Now, it was my turn.

When he,  my mom and sister visited, we made steak on it, which was delicious. (Well, my mom made it. I didn’t really pay attention. )

I didn’t touch it for about a month, but finally decided to make a variation of a recipe I’d been salivating over in Bon Appetit.

Ingredients: 20 pieces of shrimp (10 per person), 2 1/2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, 1 tbsp diced garlic, 1/2 tsp dried crushed red pepper flakes, kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, baby argula or other greenery, 2 tsp fresh lemon juice

Directions: Pour olive oil into pan over low heat. Add garlic and red pepper flakes. Transfer mixture to bowl and add shrimp, tossing them so they are covered. Let marinate for 30 minutes. Then grill for a few minutes on each side. Serve over greens or with greens on the side.

Notes:  Frozen shrimp was on sale at Publix, so I opted for that instead of jumbo shrimp, which the recipe called for.  On the NuWave, I did the shrimp for four minutes on each side, which was too long. The shrimp wound up just a bit too tough. I think three on each side would be better. I loved the marinade though, so with the shrimp done properly, it would have been perfect.

Leave a Reply

