A friend who sends you brownies is a really good friend

I will completely confess that I’ve been a lazy cook this week and have gone out way too much (hence the lack of posts). But I wanted to take a minute and blog my friend Drew’s brownie recipe.

Brownies may have or may not have been sent to my Tallahassee address because I mocked Drew’s baking a while back. He casually mentioned baking something to take to his aunt’s for Easter in an e-mail and I responded with “What? Baking? You?”  I reminded him that he had mocked me once for looking at cookbooks at Borders and he countered with he still couldn’t cook, but baking was kind of cool. And he sent me brownies to prove it.

And they are amazing. So chocolatey.

Here’s part of the e-mail Drew sent me explaining how he made the brownies. It’s largely experimental for him. “Of course it takes what should be a quick 10-20 minute preparation and turns into a game of ‘Hmmmm….what ELSE would taste good in this recipe?’ which is part of the fun,” he wrote in his e-mail.

(We should note that Drew is allergic to chocolate, so doesn’t eat some of his concoctions, which is very sad. He is a fan of peanut butter desserts though.)

FROM DREW:

What I usually do is start with a fudge brownie mix and then switch it up a little bit by using an extra egg to make the brownies thicker and more cake-like.  Then I usually add some ‘extras’ like a tablespoon of Splenda sprinkled across the pan along with the peanut butter chips after I coat it with PAM/generic cooking spray (usually the kind with flour mixed in especially for baking).  Also, I like to use a little bit (a capful, I guess) of vanilla extract and even a little cinnamon or ginger sometimes to add a little spice to it.

Then after I mix it all together, I take another handful of peanut butter chips and about 3-4 oz of bakers chocolate (semi-sweet or unsweetened) and soften them in a bowl in the microwave for about 2-3 minutes.  The peanut butter chips and the bakers chocolate should mix together pretty well and while they are still warm I mix them into the brownie
mix and stir it in!  That way its still warm and it blends well with it.  After that I sometimes throw another handful or two of peanut butter chips into mix and then pour it into the pan and bake for about 30 minutes.

After I take it out, I cool it for about 20 minutes regularly and then I put the tray in the freezer for about 20 minutes,
which helps a lot for slicing the brownies (I always had trouble, even with sharp knives with the brownies sort of ‘tearing’ instead of cutting sharply) and it’s especially helpful if you are in a rush too.  I’m always experimenting with recipes too.  I believe for your brownies, I also added about two or three tablespoons of smooth peanut butter into the mix too!

***************

Friends who send you brownies also give you something to throw up on the blog when you haven’t been cooking or baking yourself. 🙂 Thanks, Drew!

 

Leave a Reply

