Recipes

Dinner and a Movie

Last night started with chicken parmesan from Skinny Taste. (Obsessed with that website)

And was followed by a movie. You must go see Midnight In Paris. It’s really a lovely film and it will make you want to move to Paris immediately. It’s also filled with some great one liners. (Have you ever shot a charging lion?) The trailer does not do it justice.

Anyway, here’s the recipe. I reduced the amounts because I was not cooking for four people. I also used chicken tenders, not chicken breasts. (Had to work with what was in my kitchen at the moment).

Ingredients: 4 (8 oz) chicken breast halves, sliced in half , 3/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, 2 tbsp butter, melted, 3/4 cup reduced fat mozzarella cheese, and 1 cup marinara sauce.

Directions: Preheat oven to 450. Melt butter in microwave and lightly brush the butter onto the chicken, then dip the chicken into the breadcrumb mixture. Bake for 20 minutes, turning the chicken over for the last five minutes. Remove chicken and spoon sauce and mozzarella cheese over it. Return to the oven for five more minutes.

Serve With: I made whole wheat spaghetti to go with it and some bagged salad.

How Was It: Delicious overall. The chicken was a tiny bit dry. I’m guessing that is because I used the same heat for what is prescribed for chicken breasts and I used tenders. When I put the chicken back in with the cheese, I actually had already turned off the heat. However, the oven was still warm and the stove was on because I was making the spaghetti.

That’s all for me. I’m headed off to the store in a little bit to gather supplies for a cookout. Hooray for a three-day weekend (and our nation’s birth obviously).

Leave a Reply

