Uncategorized

Sometimes you just want steak and potatoes

I’ve decided that home ownership is all about weekly trips to Home Depot/Lowes.

On the upside, I am now familiar with the paint, lighting and home accessories sections of those stores. On the downside, my bank account is a bit thinner.

But this weekend, my house went from this…

To this…

Now you know why there’s been a lack of blog posts. 🙂

Two friends helped me paint, I ripped up the carpet and Home Depot laid the floor. It was an exhausting weekend, but I am so excited about the finished look! All that HGTV watching has paid off!

Sunday, as I was wandering through the aisles at Publix, I decided a nice dinner was in order both as a thank you to one of my helpers and a celebration for the home project, even if the house isn’t back to normal yet. But it had to wait until Tuesday after I’d had time to recover.

Steak, baked potato and corn on the cob, one of my favorite summer meals.

I admit, there was a quick phone call to Mom first to ask how to make the marinade. All I could remember was soy sauce and sugar. Unfortunately (and fortunately) my mom is such an awesome cook that she doesn’t measure things out.  When she listed off the spices, she said she just starts throwing things in and tastes it as she goes. Her advice: Taste it and if you don’t like it, add more soy sauce. That usually does the trick.

Thanks, Mom. 🙂

Ingredients: Your favorite cut of steak, soy sauce, onion powder, garlic powder, sugar, paprika, pinch of ginger

Directions: Mix marinade ingredients and let steak sit in it for a while. Then transfer to the grill or in my case, the NuWave Oven. For a grill, occasionally check the middle to see how pink it is (you can judge depending on how you like your steak). For a NuWave, it was about 7 minutes on both sides.

 

It was only the second time I have tried using the NuWave. The first was the shrimp recipe.

Serve with: Baked potato and corn,

For baked potato: Stab with fork in a few places and cook at 400 for an hour.

For corn: Husk and rinse the corn. Wrap in wax paper and cook in microwave for three minutes (For two ears).

How was it: I’m still learning my way around the NuWave, and I felt like it did not cook the steak too evenly. It was obviously a faster way to do it and makes a weeknight meal much faster. The steak still turned out decently though. The corn was only average (I miss Pennsylvania and its corn fields!) and the baked potato was just right.

OK, off to work. Next recipe: Yogurt muffins! Recipe courtesy of Mom.

 

Leave a Reply

