Uncategorized

Thursday night is for baking yogurt muffins

When my mom last visited in May, she handed me a tiny recipe that she’d cut out of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette for yogurt muffins. She said I should try it and my sister swore up and down that they were easy and tasty.

I promptly hung it on my refrigerator and there it sat for two months. When I moved to my new house, I put it back on the refrigerator, and it stared at me for another few weeks.

Last night, while making a tuna melt for dinner, I decided the time had come to try these so-called yogurt muffins.

I needed 1 cup of any flavor yogurt. Now the question was, which one?

I decided on banana cream pie from Yoplait. (It’s my favorite Yoplait flavor currently) Note: If you are using these yogurt cups, you will need two to get a full cup. These are only 6 oz.

Now for the rest of the ingredients.

Ingredients: 2 cups Bisquick, 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/4 cup vegetable oil, 1 egg and 1 cup yogurt any flavor

Directions: Stir Bisquick, soda and oil together. Add egg and yogurt, stirring  until moist. Spoon into a muffin tin or paper-lined muffin tin. Bake for 15 minutes at 400.

How were they: OK, I admit they aren’t the prettiest looking muffins, but they are delicious. You definitely get the taste of the yogurt, especially when they are fresh out of the oven. They are light and moist and make a perfect snack if you make them in a smaller muffin tin (I only have a small muffin tin, so that was my only option). It also took maybe 10 minutes to prepare before sticking them in the oven. My type of recipe.

Leave a Reply

