A summer soup to take to lunch

I realized the other day that my blogging must look totally frenetic. I will go a week or two with no posts and then do a few right in a row.

Well, that’s what I feel like this summer is like. I somehow came down with mono. I bought a townhouse and moved into the townhouse. A few weeks after I moved in, I discovered there was a leak in a pipe under the driveway. And my car battery died. Yikes!

Somewhere in there, my work laptop got a virus and I had to send it to Fort Lauderdale to get fixed.

And my cooking seems to follow this pattern too. I didn’t really want to cook at all this weekend or last week. But then I got home today and threw soup in the crock pot and baked some cookie. I’ll blog the cookies later in a separate post.

If anyone from work is reading this: Yes, they are coming to work.

Here’s my summer white  bean  soup from Spark Recipes.

Ingredients:1 Can Cannellini Beans, 2 Cups Vegetable Broth, 1 Whole Chopped Tomato, 1 Cup Chopped Onions,2 Tablespoons Olive Oil, Juice from one Lemon, 4 Garlic Cloves, minced, 8 Fresh leaves of Basil, cut in half, 2 Cups Water, 4 Oz Fat Free Feta Cheese

Directions: Throw it all in a crock pot and cook for three hours.

Tip: Don’t be like me and think you remember all of the ingredients. I realized after about 50 minutes that I forgot the olive oil, garlic and water.

How was it: It’s light and flavorful. Perfect for taking to work and really easy to make.

Ready to take it to work!

Leave a Reply

