A white wine pasta to kick off NFL season

I had a few items on my agenda this evening.

1. Find a bookcase. (My old one fell apart and my books are strewn across the spare bedroom)

2. Watch the President’s speech. (Journalistic duty)

3. Make and eat a white wine pasta

4. Watch the NFL season opener (Ok, that was more the boyfriend’s agenda. But I like football, so it was OK by me)

All of these items were successfully completed, including the white wine pasta dish, which I Googled at the end of the work day before starting my other errands.  Of course, I learned my lesson of trying to memorize recipes that I think are easy and read it on my BlackBerry.

I also drank some wine.

And voila, pasta!

OK, it didn’t happen quite like that.

It’s more like I tried to read my Blackberry and drink wine at the same time, while boiling water and trying to get the ingredients together for the white wine sauce.

Here’s the recipe from Epicurious.

Ingredients: 1 lb pasta, 4 garlic cloves, chopped, 1/4 cup olive oil, 5 Tbs unsalted butter, 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper, 1 tsp kosher salt, 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper,  1/2 cup white wine, 1/2 cup chopped flat parsley, 1/2 cup grated parmagiano-reggiano cheese

Directions: Boil water and cook pasta according to pasta box’s directions. Meanwhile, heat oil over medium heat and add garlic and red pepper, cooking for about two minutes. Then, add white, butter, salt and pepper. When pasta is ready, toss in sauce and add parmesan and parsley.
Confession: I cut the recipe in half because I certainly did not need a pound of pasta. And I ditched the parsley because I didn’t feel like buying it and the salt because I rarely add salt to recipes.
Tip: Though this is fine alone, it’s probably a better complement to shrimp or chicken, which is what Epicurious suggests.
How Was It: My first reaction was that I didn’t taste much more than olive oil. That quickly changed and it really was a great, light pasta.
One comment

  1. nalysale · September 14, 2011

    White wine is the best choice of all drinks since it is best suited with all the dishes and we can even take it in dinner.Always choose an above average white wine that is dry. If the recipe calls for a bit more sweetness, a semi-dry wine may work. It is not a good idea to use the most expensive wines for cooking, as these are intended to be savored by themselves

Leave a Reply

