Uncategorized

Black bean and corn soup

My poor blog has been dreadfully neglected! Sorry blog.

I admit, I have been cooking, but nothing new, so I haven’t felt it blog worthy. I’ve made apple cake, meatloaf and chicken in the past week, but I just haven’t been too adventurous. I sort of lost my cooking groove.  Over the past month, many nights when I got home, I was more likely to boil some water and throw in spaghetti instead of really cooking.

I wasn’t eating particularly well/healthy and there was no blog. 😦

Bad news bears.

This weekend it came to a head. I knew I wasn’t eating as well as I should be and had just been feeling sluggish.  On top of that, I knew this week would be busy, so it was a perfect crockpot week.

I pulled out my Fix It and Forget It cookbook and decided on Black Bean and Corn Soup. It’s healthy (the whole soup without being divided into portions is about 1400 calories) and filling because black beans are a good source of protein.  I will admit that I am not a huge black bean fan. I like them in doses, so I wasn’t sure about a whole soup built on them.

This soup just involves a lot of cans.

Ingredients: 2-15 oz cans black beans, drained and rinsed; 14 1/2 oz can Mexican stewed tomatoes (I couldn’t find them at Publix, so i just used regular stewed tomatoes); 14 1/2-oz can diced tomatoes; 11-oz can whole kernel corn, drained; 4 green onions, sliced;  2-3 tbsp chili powder; 1 tsp ground cumin, 1/2 tsp dried minced garlic

Directions: Combine all ingredients into the slow cooker. Cover and cook on high for 5-6 hours.

I admit, I was missing green onions and cumin. I threw in some onion powder and just had to forgo the cumin.  The soup kind of tasted like chili, just without the meat and kidney beans. It was so filling though. I had a bowl for dinner last night and was plenty full.

One thought on “Black bean and corn soup

Leave a Reply

