Uncategorized

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies Make The World a Better Place

You might remember that I had mono this summer.

Yeah, exactly. Who thinks about mono when they’re 26? Certainly not me.

I also didn’t have a particularly bad case, so when the doctor told me I would probably still feel the affects for a few months even though I didn’t really have it anymore (fatigue, shaky immune system), I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal. Oh, how I was wrong.

Though I can get through the work day, I haven’t had much energy or ambition to do anything else. I haven’t wanted to cook or bake and my gym membership is collecting dust. Going out on a Friday night seems to be more exhausting than fun. And when someone around me gets sick, I tend to as well. (Though luckily I avoided the flu that knocked a few of my colleagues out)

I stared at the blog and its lack of updates, but didn’t really have anything to post. My new townhouse has sat in shambles while I’ve curled up on the couch doing nothing and fallen asleep at 10 p.m.

The past few days though, I’ve noticed a change. I’ve felt more energetic. I went for a 3-mile hike with my friend Lynn. I started painting a guest bathroom and I actually cooked multiple times this week.

I think  the thought of pumpkin chocolate chip cookies was the turning point. (OK, not really, but who doesn’t like the sound of pumpkin and chocolate in one cookie?)

My friend Jen, who is a super smart West Coast lawyer, sent me this recipe for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies last Monday. I said all week that I was going to make them. Saturday, I finally did.

I cut it in half because I didn’t have the time to make 60 cookies.

First step: Ingredients

************

Ingredients: 1 stick butter softened, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 egg, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 cup canned pumpkin puree, 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour,  1 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground ginger,  1/8 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/8 tsp ground cloves, 1 cup chocolate chips

Directions: Heat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray cookie sheets with nonstick spray or line them with parchment paper.

 Using a mixer, beat the butter until smooth. Beat in the white and brown sugars, a little at a time, until the mixture is light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs 1 at a time, then mix in the vanilla and pumpkin puree. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.

Slowly beat the flour mixture into the batter in thirds. Stir in the chips. Scoop the cookie dough by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared cookie sheets and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the cookies are browned around the edges. Remove the cookie sheets from the oven and let them rest for 2 minutes. Take the cookies off with a spatula and cool them on wire racks.

**********

How were they: As Jen told me, they were delicious! Her Facebook message yesterday to me was: OMG girl, you are gonna love them! I had to make them before my dad’s visit so I couldn’t eat them all. Between him and my coworkers, I only ended up consuming about four!!

One thought on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies Make The World a Better Place

Leave a Reply

