Recipes

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

On Saturday evening, we went for a quasi date night.

There was a good dinner (Sausage zucchini boats with spinach salad). A football game to be watched (Florida v. Auburn). And a pumpkin to be carved!

I won’t lie. I was more concerned with getting the pumpkin seeds so I could roast them. My mom used to roast the seeds every year after my sister and I dug them out of the pumpkin.  I probably haven’t had them since Halloween 2002, my last one at my parents’ house.

So, like a dutiful daughter, I called Mom to ask how exactly I should make them.

Ingredients: Pumpkin seeds (washed and dried), 1 1 /2 tbsp butter, salt

Directions: Separate seeds from pumpkin. It’s easiest to do this by putting the seeds in a colander and running cold water over them. The pumpkin remnants will separate easily. Then let them dry. I put them on a paper towel and let them sit over night. The only problem with that was that some of them stuck to the paper towel.

Place seeds in mixing bowl. Melt butter and pour over the seeds. Then sprinkle liberally with salt, while stirring the seeds so the salt is evenly distributed. Roast in oven at 250, stirring occasionally, for about 4o minutes or until seeds are a golden brown.

You should then eat copious amounts of this salty, buttery snack!

The other finished product…

Leave a Reply

