Uncategorized

Pumpkin Oatmeal

When I was a little girl, my grandma used to cut up bananas and put it in hot oatmeal for me.  But after about age 8, I decided to forgo oatmeal in favor of cheerios, wheat chex and other cereals (no sugar cereals in my parents’ house).

It was only as an adult that I made a return to oatmeal.

Yesterday, I took another stab at making pumpkin oatmeal. I had tried it last fall, but too much nutmeg and not enough brown sugar created a not-s0-great taste. It wasn’t horrible, but I thought it could be better. So, in my pumpkin craze over the past few days, I tried pumpkin oatmeal again.

(Please pardon the bad pictures. I left my camera at work and my BlackBerry was dying)

Ingredients: 1/2 cup oats, 1/2 cup canned pumpkin, 1 cup milk, 1 tbsp brown sugar,  1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1 tsp white sugar, cinnamon

Directions: Combine ingredients on stove (use as much cinnamon as your heart desires) and cook until oats are soft and milk has been absorbed by other ingredients.

I failed at the final picture because the BlackBerry died, but the result was much better than last year’s. I think the extra sugar really brought out the pumpkin flavor and less is more when using nutmeg.

Leave a Reply

