The one where I got bronchitis and made cheesy potato soup

Hello blog,

Nice to see you again.

It’s been about a month since I last blogged anything I’ve made, which just makes me sad. It’s been a tough month. Around the time of my last entry, I came down with what I thought was a cold/cough. And then it was just a cough, a cough that tore my chest apart and didn’t come with any other symptoms. The doctors put me on steroids and then an inhaler, and now, after a month, I’m finally starting to feel like myself again.

They ruled it a form of bronchitis. The bottom line was my lungs were inflamed and I was coughing like crazy. Trust me, it wasn’t pleasant.

Needless to say, I didn’t do a whole lot of cooking and I ate a lot of soup. Specifically broccoli cheese soup and cheesy potato soup.

The broccoli soup was an old favorite, but the cheesy potato soup was new. I found it when I was scrolling through the Crock Pot Girls website (If you have never seen it, it’s fantastic!)

I sort of had to cheat because you’re supposed to ideally put it on when you leave for work and then come home and do the last 20-30 minutes of cooking. I made the first part in the crock pot one day, and then transferred it to a regular pot and finished it over the stove the next. (It turned out fine, in case you’re wondering).

Ingredients: 1 bag (32 oz) frozen southern-style diced hash brown potatoes, thawed;  1/2 cup frozen chopped onion (from 12-oz bag), thawed;  1 medium stalk celery, diced (1/2 cup);  1 carton (32-oz) chicken broth; 1 cup water; 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour; 1 cup milk; 1 bag (8 oz) shredded cheddar cheese  (2 cups); 1/4 cup real bacon pieces (from 2.8-oz package); 4 medium green onions, sliced (1/4 cup)

Directions: In 3- to 4-quart slow cooker, mix potatoes, onion, celery, broth and water. Cover; cook on Low heat setting 6 to 8 hours. In small bowl, mix flour into milk; stir into potato mixture. Increase heat setting to High. Cover; cook 20 to 30 minutes or until mixture thickens. Stir in cheese until melted. Garnish individual servings with bacon and green onions. Sprinkle with pepper if desired.

Notes: I just fried two pieces of bacon and used that instead of buying bacon bits. And as mentioned above, I actually did the second part of the recipe a day later, by transferring the potatoes to a pot and warming it over the stove while I mixed in the flour mixture and cheese.

That’s all for me! Hopefully I’ll be blogging a bit more this week as I prepare my house for Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

