Turkey meatballs

Sometimes the best laid plans go astray.

Such was the case with turkey meatballs.

OK, not really. They still turned out well in the end. I just took a different route to dinner than the recipe laid out for me.

I was scoping out recipes on Skinny Taste, one of my favorite recipe websites (Really tasty meals are essentially healthified) and came across the recipe for turkey meatballs in the crock pot.

I had it all planned out.

I made the meatballs at about 8 a.m. Tuesday.

(I seriously love parsley)

My general plan was to come home at noon and put them in the crock pot with the sauce. But did that happen? No.

The work day got unexpectedly busy and stressful, so when the boyfriend suggested a quick trip to  Panera, that sounded like a better idea than going home.

I adjusted my plan so that I could stop home later in the day.  But that didn’t happen either.

So, there would be no crock pot meatballs. Instead, there were oven baked meatballs.

I put the meatballs in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes. I then placed them in the sauce that was already bubbling on the stove. After letting them cook some more in the sauce, I spooned them out onto some whole wheat buns.

I t was probably 8:30 p.m. by this time, 12 hours after I originally started. Like I said:  best laid plans.

 Here’s the original recipe, which is what I followed for the meatballs and sauce. I obviously just didn’t put them in the crock pot.

Ingredients for meatballs:  1.3 lb ground turkey breast, 1/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs, 1/4 cup parmesan, 1/4 cup parsley finely chopped, 1 egg, 1 large garlic clove crushed, 1 tsp kosher salt and fresh pepper

Ingredients for the sauce: 1 tsp olive oil,  4 garlic cloves mashed, 1 bay leaf, 28 oz can crushed tomatoes,
salt and pepper to taste, 1/4 cup fresh chopped basil or parsley

Directions: In large bowl, combine all of the ingredients for the meatballs. Mix with your hands and form meatballs. In a small saute pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and saute until golden, being careful not to burn.  Pour crushed tomatoes into the crock pot with bay leaf, then add garlic and oil. Drop meatballs into crock pot and cook on low for four hours. Remove and sprinkle with basil or parsley.

How to eat: With pasta, on a bun or with spaghetti! We went the bun route. Meatball sandwiches seemed like the perfect end to a long day.

Leave a Reply

