Uncategorized

Chicken rollatini stuffed with zucchini & mozzarella

If you haven’t noticed me singing this site’s praises on the blog, Twitter or Facebook before, let me take the opportunity to tell you about one of my favorite recipe blogs.

Skinny Taste has my favorite healthy and tasty recipes. The creator, Gina, initially started it as a project to adapt recipes to the Weight Watchers point system and ended up with quite a database of recipes that were both  scrumptious and healthy.

My favorites include the roasted red pepper soup (I made it the other day), chicken bruschetta and spinach lasagna rolls. The meatballs from the other night were also courtesy of her site.

I was able to do a lot of cooking this week because it was not quite as hectic at work and I took a day off Wednesday, which resulted in the soup, some Christmas cookies and a new recipe, chicken rollatini stuffed with zucchini and mozzarella.

I had found the recipe on Gina’s site a week before, sent the link to my boyfriend and informed him that I was making it for dinner Wednesday night if he was so inclined to stop by.

I did have one minor screw up though. I accidentally grabbed chicken breasts instead of chicken cutlets at the grocery store. To fix that, I put the chicken in a plastic bag and got out a hammer.

No, I’m not  joking. I had to flatten the chicken some way.

The chicken was then bathed in a lemon juice-olive oil mixture and covered with a breadcrumb -parmesan mix. Then, I spread a mixture of oil oil, shredded zucchini mozzarella and parmesan on the underside of the chicken breast and rolled it up.

Note, I cut this recipe way down because I was only cooking for two, but here’s the original from Skinny Taste.

Ingredients: 1 tsp olive oil, 4 cloves garlic, chopped, 1 1/2 cups (1 medium) zucchini, shredded, 1/4 cup + 2 tbsp Romano cheese (or parmesan), 3 oz part skim shredded mozzarella, salt and pepper to taste, 8 thin chicken cutlets, 3 oz each, 1/2 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs, 1 lemon, juice of, 1 tbsp olive oil, salt and fresh pepper, non-stick spray

Directions: Wash and dry cutlets, season with salt and pepper.  Preheat oven to 450°. Lightly spray a baking dish with non-stick spray.

In a large skillet, heat oil on medium-high heat. Add oil when hot then saute garlic a minute, or until golden. Add zucchini, 1/4 cup Romano cheese, salt and pepper and saute about 3-4 minutes, stirring occasionally. Set aside to cool. When cool, add mozzarella cheese and mix to combine.

Lay chicken cutlets down on a working surface and spread 3 tbsp of zucchini-cheese mixture on each cutlet. Loosely roll each one and keep seam side down.

Combine breadcrumbs and grated cheese in one bowl; in a second bowl combine olive oil, lemon juice, and pepper in another bowl.

Dip chicken in lemon-oil mixture, then in breadcrumbs and place seam side down in a baking dish (no toothpicks needed). Repeat with the remaining chicken. When finished, lightly spraywith oil spray.

Bake 25 – 30 minutes. Serve immediately. Serving size is listed as one, but if you are having this as a low carb meal with a salad, I suggest you have two.

How was it: It comes boyfriend approved, but I think he liked it more than I did.  The meat was certainly tender and I did enjoy the zucchini/cheese filling. I served it with rice and salad.

Leave a Reply

