Shrimp & Pasta More Than Easy Mac style

When I was younger, the only seafood I really liked was shrimp. I would order it all the time.   At an elementary schooler, I stuck to the fried shrimp and french fry baskets at restaurants. By my 16th birthday, I’d graduated to Shrimp Danielle at the Grand Concourse in Pittsburgh.

Now I know that I pretty much like most seafood.  Well, I take that back. I can’t really get into oysters, even though I live so close to Apalachicola. Give me lobster or crab legs any day!

But, I still love shrimp and I have a tendency to buy big frozen bags of it at Publix if it’s on sale.

Such was the case last weekend, when I came home with a bag of medium shrimp. I figured that one day this week I would get home early enough and be ambitious enough to make a nice dinner.  So, last night I popped the dinner question to my boyfriend and he said, upon hearing shrimp was involved, that he would be over promptly.

I combed the Internet for a few recipes and sort of settled upon this one from Daily Unadventures in Cooking as the base for my meal, but tweaked it a bit.

(For Two people)

Ingredients:  12 shrimp shelled, spaghetti, can of diced tomatoes slightly drained, 1 clove garlic, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp butter,  1/2 cup white wine, basil, oregano, parmesan cheese,

Directions:  Heat butter and olive oil in pan. Add garlic and let cook for a minute or two.  Drain the excess juice off the top of the diced tomatoes (don’t have to drain thoroughly, just all the juice at the top of the can) and add to the frying pan, which will sizzle and splatter. Then add wine.  Add shrimp and cook until they are white, not translucent.  Add oregano and basil to taste.

Meanwhile, heat water and cook spaghetti according to directions. If the shrimp finishes first, simply turn off the heat and let it sit.  When spaghetti is finished, drain. Then put pasta into the frying pan with the shrimp and sauce and toss.  Place in serving bowl and sprinkle with parmesan cheese.

An ideal way to finish it off would have been to add fresh basil or parsley, but I did not think about that before I got home yesterday.  So, it was sans garnish.

Served With: Arugula salad.

 

Leave a Reply

