Uncategorized

Some mornings, you should just make mac ‘n’ cheese

I know this is going to sound funny, but despite the name of my blog, I’ve never made real mac ‘n’ cheese.

I’ve devoured it at potlucks and bbq restaurants. My friend NiCole made an absolutely amazing batch at a 2007 Thanksgiving dinner my grad school friends had a few days before we all left for break.

Yet, I have never even attempted it.

I think in some ways it was intimidating. 🙂

But this morning, I was up early and though I was dressed for a walk/run, it was still too dark for me to hit the trail behind my house.

So, I decided that some mornings are just meant for cooking. And this was one of them.

It was time to make mac ‘n’ cheese.

My inspiration (of course) came from a recipe I saw posted on Pinterest.

It was a blog post from a Whisk and a Prayer on making mac ‘n’ cheese in the crockpot.

Here’s her beautiful picture of  the finished product.

This morning was my turn to try it.

I went with egg noodles instead of regular macaroni.

Here was the recipe from A Whisk and a Prayer.

Ingredients: 1 1/2 cups milk, one 12 oz can evaporated milk, 1/4 cup (1/2 stick) unsalted butter, melted, cooled to room temp, 3 large eggs, 1/2 tsp salt, 3 cups (12 oz) shredded cheese (I used an Italian blend, recipe calls for Italian fontina cheese), 1/2 pound elbow macaroni or mini penne tubes, par cooked and drained (this means cook them for about five minutes until tender but not completely cooked), Freshly ground black pepper to taste, 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Directions: Spray the inside of your slow-cooker with cooking spray or grease it with olive oil. Combine milk, evaporated milk, eggs, butter, and salt in slow-cooker and whisk until until smooth (or you can use an immersion blender to do the whisking for you).
Add the shredded cheese (not the Parmesan) and macaroni, sprinkle with black pepper (and whatever other spices you want to use). Stir gently with a spatula to coat evenly.

Sprinkle the Parmesan cheese on top. Cover and cook on HIGH for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, reduce the temperature to LOW and cook for 2 to 2 1/2 hours, until custard is set in the center and the pasta is tender.

My notes:  I used a bag of four-blend Mexican cheese and omitted the salt. I tend to think there is enough natural salt in a lot of dishes, so there’s no need to add more.

It was starting to look delicious when I left for work this morning.  I’ll let you know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

