Uncategorized

My friend Erin, the vegan

My friend Erin and I met freshman year when we both tried out for the student-run newspaper at Penn State.  We lived in adjoining dorms that year and soon were pretty inseparable.

We graduated five years ago this spring, but remain close.  I called her a few weeks ago and we talked for almost 90 minutes.

(Our Daily Collegian senior bar tour…Ignore my hair. I got caught in the rain, so it was super frizzy)

Two years ago, Erin and her boyfriend Chris decided to go pescatorian.  The only meat they ate was seafood.

This past year, she and Chris relocated from the Outer Banks to York, Pa.,  close to where they both grew up. And they decided to go vegan.  She’d done the research to make sure they were getting all of the nutrients they needed. She said a few weeks ago that she felt healthier and more energized than ever before.

It’s probably not a lifestyle choice I would personally embrace. I like a good balance of lean meat, fruits and veggies and whole grains. And I love a big glass of milk.

But for Erin and Chris, it is really working for them. And she wrote a guest post on a co-worker’s blog about being vegan.

Here’s an excerpt:

Two years ago, on a whim, I told my new — very new — boyfriend that I was going vegetarian. He didn’t know this yet, but impulse control is not my forte. And, on that particular day, something about vegetarianism caught my attention. I can’t tell you exactly what it was because I don’t remember. But this one thought pulsed through my mind for weeks: This is going to make me skinny, and I don’t have to exercise. What else, after all, do vegetarians eat but salad and fruit? Give myself a zero-tolerance rule for meat, I thought, and I’ll be on my way to 130 pounds in no time.

Read the rest of her blog post here!

3 thoughts on “My friend Erin, the vegan

Leave a Reply

